Astyages's Weblog

November 14, 2013

El Dorado

Filed under: Uncategorized — astyages @ 1:12 pm

Hacking my way through the dense undergrowth, I finally entered El Dorado… The city (read ‘my new house’) lay in ruins (a terrible exaggeration; but in need of some repairs anyway!) and had evidently been abandoned for some time. The ruins, upon closer inspection, showed signs of a recent battle and dark deeds done in the distant past… (read: there’s a flaming BULLET-HOLE in one of my bedroom windows, that I didn’t notice before… covered with sticky-tape! AND there’s what looks suspiciously like a bloodstain on the wooden floor of my lounge!)

The peasantry (sorry Peter! Just kidding!) was mobilized to clear the undergrowth (a much better description than ‘lawn’…), but professionals had to be brought in to deal with two enormous triffids that were attacking the city walls… The first attempt was less than successful even so as the monster-plant’s root-system broke the chainsaw and blunted the axe; reserves had to be sent for before the evil critters were finally destroyed, or so I am assured, so now work can start on rebuilding the city…

Most of the guttering was done yesterday, and the concreters have been booked and should arrive someday soon I suppose… My pergola is already dismantled and my lovely verandah out the back is going to have to be deconstructed before the hole can be dug for the underpinning… I’m told it’ll all be over by Christmas… Now where have I heard that before? (Seriously, I’m told it’ll take a ‘couple of weeks’… Hmmmm builders estimates… 😉 )

Speaking of which, I now realize their quote doesn’t cover the cost of a water-tank to plumb all my downpipes into either… so that’s a bit of a shock to the system… gonna cost up to another three grand… but there may be a local council rebate scheme… gotta check the council too for a garden waste bin… Crikey! It never ends… all these new responsibilities… AND I STILL can’t find anyone to come in and clean for me… floors need doing badly… Oh well… first things first… off to pick up my pension and supplies… More later.

Asty

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Plaisted Publishing

Building Books - One Step at a Time

Window Dresser's Arms, Pig & Whistle

The Home Pub of the Famous Pink Drinks and Trotter's Ale

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

ExJew

Not only is it toxic to society for some to believe God has favorites, it's an irrational conclusion as well. Choose to not be chosen

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Nova Spire

Prolific Electronic Music Producer/Composer

An Experimentalist's Disordered Views

A tribute to the failure of the investment in innovation

Art by Ellison

A collection of my work portfolio murals and digital art

Judeo Chrislam

Be suspect of anything encouraging you to reject your own curiosity.

We see as through a glass darkly

Different site, same strange Truth...

INFRAKSHUN

Commentary on The Shadowsphere

ARLIN REPORT...................walking this path together

PERSPECTIVE FROM AN AGING SENIOR CITIZEN

Banzai Pipeline

Photography & Commentary

paulydeathwish

cinema dossier

fluidplans

all plans remain fluid until the moment of actuality

Cucumber Lodge

"And the daughter of Zion is left as a cottage in a vineyard, as a lodge in a garden of cucumbers, as a besieged city." - Isaiah 1:8