Astyages's Weblog

July 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — astyages @ 6:11 pm

Wagon Train

Wagon train HALT! Look… those vultures are beginning to circle… they’ve spotted prey… and I think it’s US! What’s that up ahead… looks like a bacon tree.. No! By Gar! It’s a hambush! We’re about to be bushwhacked!

Those bloody bureaucrats from the Death Star are after the Precious… but the Precious is MINE! They shan’t have it!

Seriously though folks… just when you think it’s safe to go back in the water…

I finally thought I had things settled with Centrelink and had fulfilled all their obligations etc, when I get another letter which effectively is about to take away any possible interest I may or may not make (it is deemed I do anyway!) on my ‘lumpsum’… which translates into a reduction in my pension of another $84 pf… I say another because I’ve just had TWO… count ’em, TWO hefty $30 increases to my rent from Housing SA on account of the increase in income represented by my being on the pension…

At this rate I’ll be back to living like I’m on the dole in next to no time unless I either a: start using the ‘lumpsum’ (the ‘Precious’) for living expenses or buy a house… and then the house becomes the ‘Precious’… in a different form, but one in which the value of the ‘lumpsum’ will not only remain undiminished but may, in fact, be reasonably expected to grow… and, best of all, as it is to be my primary residence, it will not be included in the assets test, and so I should return to the full pension rate.

Now, I’d kinda halfway planned on buying a house, but as that involves giving up the security of a ‘lifetime tenure’ with Housing SA, and as the Precious was earning interest (though not as much as will be ‘deemed’ by Centrestink!) I was rather taking my time; thinking I had the luxury of time to take!

However, it now turns out that the sooner I buy and move into a new house the better… so I’m going to have to pull my finger out and get my skates on!

Not sure when I’ll have the time to post anything ’til all the dust settles from the move… but I’ll post what I can, when I can…

In the meantime I must apologize for the disappearance of some of my more recent musical posts; I was deleting a lot of old recordings from my hard drive ’cause they were just taking up too much space and these must have been deleted along with them as ‘source’ files… No big deal; I have some very nice recordings that are even more recent and I’ll post them as and when, too… First couple should be up some time soon…

‘Bye for now,

Asty

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks Dana… the ‘oldies’ are the best! Glad you liked it… I hope you’ll come again soon… and often!

    🙂

    Comment by astyages — July 23, 2013 @ 8:00 pm | Reply

  2. This is quite the quirky blog! Bacon Tree! Hambush! I thoroughly enjoyed your post. A humorous way to rant about our reduced existences….

    Comment by Dana R. Seiler — July 23, 2013 @ 11:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

ExJew

Choose to not be chosen

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Gringa of the Barrio

A Sassy Barrio Gringa Telling It Like It Is

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

News For The Blind

News That Isn't In The Lamestream Media

Nova Spire

Ottawa, Canada Based - Electronic Music Artist/Producer, Film Music Composer

An Experimentalist's Disordered Views

A tribute to the failure of the investment in innovation

Art by Ellison

A collection of my work past sales portfolio murals and digital art offers and orders taken

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

We see as through a glass darkly

Different site, same strange Truth...

INFRAKSHUN

Commentary on The Shadowsphere

agree to facts

uncover the true reality

Arlin Report

COMMENTATOR FOR ALL.......SENIOR CITIZENS INFO

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

HWNSURF.INFO

Twilight Zone

