Astyages's Weblog

November 14, 2010

Another Musical Post from Astyages:

Filed under: Uncategorized — astyages @ 3:04 pm

Well, this past couple of weeks, I’ve been really busy: learning the blues, posting songs at Blues Guitar Unleashed, and I even bought a new guitar, a brand new Epiphone PR-E5… a lovely little accoustic-electric number with a big sound…

The famous 'Epiphone' headstock...

I also had the great pleasure of meeting fellow piglet, Sandshoe, who took me, along with my new guitar, whom I have christened, “Christine”, to her local folk-club at her local RSL… and I even performed a few numbers. I’m pleased to report, quite modestly, that I rocked the house!

My opening number, “Be-Bop-a-Lula” got their attention, and “Apeman” blew them away! The event was even captured on film but I don’t know by whom or for what purpose… I am pursuing a line of investigative inquiry, and, if a copy may be had I’ll do what I can to see my readers have at least some kind of access to it.

Note gold-plated 'Grover' machine-heads...

In the meantime, here are a few of my more recent postings on BGU, as well as a couple of ‘Burnside Refugees’ practice recordings; please let me know if you think we’ve improved at all:

http://www.4shared.com/audio/MWx-zZlW/Apeman_Burnside_Refugees_pract.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/cIEYrwjE/Be-Bop-a-Lula_by_Cynicure_0911.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/1aa4pnQn/Brown_Eyed_Girl_Burnside_Refug.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/Q1MPKM2I/Buffalo_Soldier_Burnside_Refug.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/-QWP67W4/Deep_Sea_Blues_BBG_Cynicure_01.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/e75o1jQx/Fast_Walking_Blues_011010_2.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/8MpnPMEK/Hideaway_Blues_6p_181010.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/rYlIsA6E/Marys_Little_Lamb__BBG_Cynicur.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/5Ad1FSdc/Muddy_A_Blues_3_BBG_Cynicure_0.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/GA9KeH3k/Straight_Down_6th_Avenue_BBG_C.html

http://www.4shared.com/audio/HXlVM_xZ/Woodstock_BR_practice_101010.html

Epiphone PR 5E

I should perhaps mention that the photos are not of my PR 5E, I haven’t had time to take any yet; and I couldn’t find any decent pics at the Epiphone website, although there is a very interesting history of the company (Atomou, if ever you wanted a Greek link to the blues it is surely in this company’s history!). The one pictured is an original PR 5E offered for sale in the USA secondhand; mine is a brand new Chinese-made rebuild.

Will try to post the next episode of Aeneid sometime next week, though that is already shaping up as a very busy week too!

Keep on Truckin’

Astyages

😉

4 Comments »

  1. Chuckle. I think to mention the attendance at the Folk club was fewer than I have seen, A lot of people were away. THe great (other) performances we heard were just a sampler so I am pleased you are planning on another visit. Your piglet friend, ‘Shoe.

    Comment by sandshoe — November 14, 2010 @ 9:05 pm | Reply

  2. That’s a nice post. And I was not only so pleased to meet you, but very pleased to introduce you to the Folk Club, astyages. If I may be so forwardly minded to mention, comrade, the quality of the recordings says nothing about how good your performance was. You rocked and the audience loved you. Great night.:)

    Comment by sandshoe — November 14, 2010 @ 8:57 pm | Reply

    • Thank you for your generous appreciation, Sandshoe. I’m looking forward to a return performance…

      And of course, I’ll also have to write up what happens at the Rob Roy on Wednesday evening next too… I may even take along my video-capable camera and if a trustworthy operator can be found who’s smoothe but not too slick, perhaps I may furnish at least photos and possibly videos of the event…

      🙂

      Comment by astyages — November 14, 2010 @ 9:15 pm | Reply

      • We musos are all terrible extroverts, ‘Shoe; we are greedy for an audience… ANY audience! But an appreciative audience like that at your folk club is a real bonus! Of course I’m planning on a return performance!

        🙂

        Comment by astyages — November 14, 2010 @ 9:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

Kayak Fishing in South Australia and the UK

ExJew

Choose to not be chosen

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Gringa of the Barrio

A Sassy Barrio Gringa Telling It Like It Is

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

News For The Blind

News That Isn't In The Mainstream Media

Nova Spire

Ottawa, Canada Based - Prolific Electronic Music Artist/Producer, Film Music Composer

An Experimentalist's Disordered Views

A tribute to the failure of the investment in innovation

Art by Ellison

A collection of my work past sales portfolio murals and digital art offers and orders taken

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

We see as through a glass darkly

Different site, same strange Truth...

INFRAKSHUN

Commentary on The Shadowsphere

agree to facts

uncover the true reality

Arlin Report

COMMENTATOR FOR ALL.......SENIOR CITIZENS INFO

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

HwnSurf.info

The Surf Report

